Members and Directors 2020-21

Moordown St John’s Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School became an Academy on 1/12/15, and is now known as Moordown St John’s Church of England Primary School.

Members of the Board of Directors work hard for and on behalf of the school and are committed to providing the highest quality of education for the children who attend Moordown St John’s Church of England Primary School. The Members and Directors work effectively as a team and each bring their own skills on a voluntary basis for the good of the school.

Members for 2020-21

Fr Michael Smith
Mr Robin Foster
Mr John Rimell
Mr Andrew Swain
Mr Simon Cull

Directors for 2020-21

Chair: Mr Andrew Swain (Foundation) Tel: 07946 641577
Vice Chair: Mr Philip Cherrett (Foundation)
Mr Matthew Brito (Foundation)
Mr David Gordon (Foundation)
Mrs Victoria Gerrish (Co-opted)
Mr James Hall (Parent)
Mr David Heckles (Co-opted)
Mr Peter Herbert (Headteacher)
Mrs Nina Laing (Foundation)
Mr Nathan Thomas (Co-opted)
Mrs Michelle Widdicombe (Parent)

Rachel Rous (Clerk to the Directors)

To contact the Board of Directors please email the Clerk to the Directors

Safeguarding Link Director – Andrew Swain


As a new institution from 1/12/15, records regarding the governance of Moordown St John’s Church of England Primary School are presented from that date.

Moordown St John’s Church of England Primary School Board of Directors
Register of Interests and Attendance 2019/20 (Updated September 2019)

The Appointed Directors for 2019/20

NameRoleDate of
Term of office endsDate stepped down (if applicable)Appointed by
Matthew BritoFoundation14/6/1613/06/20n/aThe members
Philip CherrettFoundation18/1/1617/01/20n/aThe members
Victoria GerrishCo-opted17/10/19n/aThe members
David GordonFoundation27/11/18
26/11/22n/aThe members
James HallParent27/02/20The members
David HecklesCo-opted30/01/20The members
Peter HerbertHeadteacher 18/1/16n\an/aThe governors
Nina LaingFoundation18/1/1617/01/20
n/aThe members
Andrew SwainFoundation18/1/1617/01/20n/aThe members
Nathan ThomasCo-opted28/11/1627/11/20n/aThe members
Michelle WiddicombeParent27/02/20The members
MEMBERSDate of AppointmentDate stepped down
Simon Cull
Robin Foster1/12/15
John Rimell1/12/15
Fr Michael Smith1/12/19
Rachel RousClerk to the Directors
Directors Who Resigned in the Previous 12 Months
Jeff Williams1/2/1511/19

The Register of Declared Business Interests

NameBusiness InterestsDate Interest CeasedGovernance roles in other educational institutionsRelationships between members, directors and school staff
Matthew BritoDirector Sneezer Media Ltd
Wife Kelly Brito also Director of Sneezer Media Ltd
Parent of 3 children at MSJ
Philip CherrettParent of 2 children at MSJn/aNonen/a
Victoria GerrishIvy House London - Learning & Development
The Listening Ear (charity) Offers counselling services to children and families in BCP area.
David GordonNone declaredn/aNonen/a
James HallParent of 2 children at MSJn/aNoneWife is Co-Chair of school PFA
David HecklesGeneral Manager of: More Bus, Excelsior Coaches, Damory Coaches and Tourist Coachesn/aNonen/a
Peter HerbertHeadTeacher/Accounting Officer
Wife works for Kingsleigh Primary School and undertakes Dyslexia Assessment at MSJ
Union member - NAHT
Nina LaingMember of staff at MSJ
Member of Union - UNISON
Husband works for Dulux Decorating Centre
Andrew SwainBoots Pharmacy
n/aDirector of BSTn/a
Nathan ThomasMusic Teacher and Producer - Composition of bespoke music for publishing houses and agencies and 1-1 tutoring.
Onwards and Upwards: Mentoring young people not in full time or permanent school placement.
1 child at MSJ
n/aNoneWife is a Lunchtime Supervisor
Michelle WiddicombeParent of 2 children at MSJn/aNonen/a
Simon CullNone declaredn/aMember and Director of BST
Robin FosterWife employed by MSJn/aMarried to member of staff
John RimellNone declared
Fr Michael SmithVicar and Trustee Parish of Winton, Moordown & Charminster
Trustee of Women and the Church (WATCH)
Rachel Rous - Clerk to DirectorsClerk to Directors of MSJn/a
Directors Who Resigned in the Previous 12 Months

Record of Attendance at Committee Meetings 2020/21:

NameFinanceFull Directors BoardAGM
Matthew Brito1/15/61/1
Philip Cherrett1/14/60/1
Victoria Gerrish0/15/60/1
David Gordon1/16/61/1
James Hall1/15/61/1
David Heckles1/16/61/1
Peter Herbert1/15/61/1
Nina Laing1/14/61/1
Andrew Swain1/16/61/1
Nathan Thomas1/13/61/1
Michelle Widdicombe0/15/60/1
Simon Cull0/10/1
Robin Roster1/11/1
John Rimmell1/11/1
Rev Michael Smith1/11/1
Jeff Williams

Register of Interests and Attendance 2019-20

Register of Interests and Attendance 2018-19

Register of Interests and Attendance 2017-18

Register of Interests and Attendance 2016-17 

Register of Interests and Attendance 2015/16